“Life begins at forty.” 

This statement deserves a seat next to Buhari’s misogynistic, sexist and wife-battering comment, as the world’s most flawed statement ever. At forty, you only live with the choices you made in your early life! Life sets sail at twenty. The reality of choice and chance, sensuality and sexuality, goals, dreams and life in general kicks in right after saying goodbye to your teens. Well, at least for me. 

I remember how I used to go green with envy at twenty-somethings.  It was absolutely beautiful to see them call the shots! They were free, in charge and made their own decisions. My myopic mind adorned them with self-actualisation medals. In my eyes,  they had arrived!   Was there anything better than not seeking Ma’s approval on every issue? Certainly not! 

“The reality of choice and chance, sensuality and sexuality, goals, dreams and life in general kicks in right after saying goodbye to your teens.”

It’s hard to believe my childhood has been whisked away. Lately, I can’t be caught dead sitting in sand. I can’t even treat my taste buds to sweet earth in peace anymore. Should I try , an over-concerned know-it-all will  give me a microbiology lecture on ingesting microbial spores. Bathing in the open is now a no-no too. How delightful that was! And of course, the care-free days when all I thought about was my new shoe or who was to be crowned queen bee was golden! 

Two years down the twenties lane, my perspective on life has metamorphosed. My twenties waltzed in, charmed me into dancing and twisted everything.She’s replaced my juvenile stubbornness for patience. She’s taught me to know that everything falls into place. Maybe not at my preferred pace but eventually, they do. Twenties said to shun idealism. Everyone was not obliged to conform to my standards. And everybody was not going to live up to expectation. Twenties taught me to be less trusting of people. People change, not just personality-wise, their words as well. They can lie! 

Twenties taught me to save and give. To save time, money and energy yet give off time, money and energy.Twenties said to read, read, read and invest in myself. Try new things, learn new things, meet new people, network, listen and learn from people.Twenties says to find reason , to seek and question life’s purpose. Finally, upon which all of these hinge, Twenties gave me a reason to serve God better and trust in Him alone. In that,I would be assured of living the life He has tailored for me. 

Word to teenagers all over the world? Enjoy your teens! Children?  Be jolly ! Don’t envy me. I know you want to hold the reins of your life but trust me,  you really do not want to. You really do not! Don’t anticipate the twenties. Don’t get too excited about her. She only twists. Everything

“Finally, upon which all of these hinge, Twenties gave me a reason to serve God better and trust in Him alone. In that,I would be assured of living the life He has tailored for me.”

I gave my life totally over to Jesus at twenty and life began! It’s not too late if you’ve left things to chance though. Get to work!  You’re waiting for your life to begin at forty?? Bruuhh??! 😱😱😱

